Skip Main Navigation
Official Nebraska Government Website
NITC Logo
Skip Side Navigation
Education Council Icon

Members

The Education Council membership includes representatives from the following groups: K-12, Postsecondary, and Non-voting liaisons. The Commission may solicit nominations for new or replacement members from the respective subsector groups.

Membership Details


Post Secondary

Member Representing Alternates
Mr. Derek Bierman
Chief Information Officer
Doane Unviersity
1014 Boswell Avenue, Crete, NE 68333
p: 402.826.8333
derek.bierman@doane.edu
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Independent Universities
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Council of Independent Nebraska Colleges Foundation)
To be announced
Mr. Bret Blackman
Chief Information Officer
University of Nebraska-Omaha
6001 Dodge St., EAB 112; Omaha, NE 68182
p: 402.554.2227
bblackman@unomaha.edu
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Public Universities
(as recommended by the President of the University of Nebraska)
Mr. Andrew Buker
Executive Director, Infrastructure Services
University of Nebraska
6001 Dodge Street, EAB-008, Omaha, NE 68182
p: 402.554.2175
abuker@nebraska.edu
Mr. John Dunning
Chief Information Officer
Wayne State College
1111 Main, Wayne, NE 68787
p: 402.375.7447
jodunni1@wsc.edu
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
[Co-Chair, Higher Education]
State Colleges
(as recommended by the Chancellor of the Nebraska State College System)
Ms. Ann Burk
Chief Information Officer
Chadron State College
1000 Main Street, Chadron, NE 69337
p: 308.432.6311 x101
aburk@csc.edu
Mr. Edward Koster
VP for Research, Planning and Technology
Southeast Community College
600 State Street, Milford, NE 68405
p: 402.761.8224
ekoster@southeast.edu
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Community Colleges
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Community College System)
Dr. Michael Oltrogge
President
Nebraska Indian Community College
1111 U.S. Hwy 75, Macy, NE 68039
p: 402.960.5176
moltrogge@thenicc.edu
Mr. Greg Maschman
Asst Vice-President and Controller
Nebraska Wesleyan University
5000 Saint Paul Avenue, Lincoln, NE 68504-2796
p: 402.465.2116
gdm@nebrwesleyan.edu
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
Independent Universities
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Council of Independent Nebraska Colleges Foundation)
Mr. Steven Dow
Director of Information Services Infrastructure
Nebraska Wesleyan University
5000 Saint Paul Avenue, Lincoln, NE 68504-2796
p: 402.465.2255
sdow@nebrwesleyan.edu
To be announced

Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
Public Universities
(as recommended by the President of the University of Nebraska)
Dr. Jaci Lindburg
Director of Digital Learning
University of Nebraska-Omaha
6001 Dodge St., EAB110P, Omaha, NE 68182
p: 402.554.2020
jlindburg@nebraska.edu
Mr. Tom Peters
I.T. Service Manager
Central Community College
3134 W. Hwy 34; Grand Island, NE 68802
p: 308.398.7365
tpeters@cccneb.edu
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
Community Colleges
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Community College System)
Mr. Keith Vincik
Director of Network and Infrastructure Services
Central Community College
3134 W. Hwy 34; Grand Island, NE 68802
p: 308.398.7365
kvincik@cccneb.edu
Dr. Paul Turman
Chancellor
Nebraska State College System
1115 K Street, Suite 102, P.O. Box 94605, Lincoln, NE 68509-4605
p: 402.471.2505
pturman@nscs.edu
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
State Colleges
(as recommended by the Chancellor of the Nebraska State College System)
Mr. Steve Hotovy
Vice Chancellor for Facilities, Planning and Information Technology
Nebraska State College System
1327 H Street, Suite 200, P.O. Box 94605, Lincoln, NE 68509-4605
p: 402.471.2505
shotovy@nscs.edu

K-12

Member Representing Alternates
Mr. Burke Brown
Teacher
District OR-1 Palmyra/Bennet Public Schools
425 F St., Palmyra, NE 68418-0130
p: 402.780.5327
brown.bur@districtor1.net
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
Teachers
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska State Education Association)
Ms. Cassandra Joseph
Teacher
South Sioux City Community Schools
3625 G St., South Sioux City, NE 68776-3466
p: 402.494.3061
cassandra.joseph@ssccardinals.org
Mr. Matt Chrisman
Teacher-Technology Coordinator
Mitchell Secondary School
1819 19th Ave., Mitchell, NE 69357
p: 308.623.1707
mchrisma@mpstigers.com
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Teachers
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska State Education Association)
Ms. Emily Tobias
Teacher-Technology Coordinator
Sargent Public Schools
400 N. 5th St., P.O. Box 366
Sargent, NE 68874
p: 308.527.4119
emily.tobias@sargentpublicschools.org
Dr. Ted DeTurk
Administrator
ESU 2
2320 N. Colorado St, Fremont, NE 68026-0649
p: 402.721.7710
tdeturk@esu2.org
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Educational Service Units
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the ESU Coordinating Council)
Mr. Gregg Robke
Administrator
ESU 4
919 16th St, Auburn, NE 68305
p: 402.414.3099
grobke@esu4.net
Mr. Stephen Hamersky
Technology Coordinator
Daniel J. Gross Catholic High School
7300 S. 43rd Street, Bellevue, NE 68147-1706
p: 402.734.2000 x152
Hamersky@grosscatholic.org
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Private-Parochial Education
(as recommended by the Executive Officer of the Nebraska affiliate of the Council for American Private Education)
To be announced
Dr. Dan Hoesing
Superintendent
Schuyler Community Schools
401 Adam St., Schuyler, NE 68661-2400
p: 402.352.3527
dhoesing@esu7.org
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
Administrators
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Council of School Administrators)
To be announced
Mr. Trent Kelly
Director of Technology and Operations
Hastings Public Schools
1924 West A Street, Hastings, NE 68901-5650
p: 402.461.7500
trent.kelly@hpstigers.org
Term 7.1.2021-6.30.2023
Administrators
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Council of School Administrators)
Mr. Leonard Kwapnioski
Executive Director of Technology
Columbus Public Schools
2508 27th St, Columbus, NE 68602
p: 402.563.7000 x11517
kwapnioskil@discoverers.org
Mr. Alan Moore
Board Member
Educational Service Unit 3
6949 S. 110th St., LaVista, NE 68128
p: 402.597.4800
Alan.moore@stratcom.net
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
Boards of Education
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Association of School Boards)
Ms. Tracy Popp
Board Member
Broken Bow Public Schools
323 N. 7th Ave, Broken Bow, NE 68822
p: 308.872.6821
popptracy@yahoo.com
Mr. Gary Needham
Director of Technology
ESU 9
1117 East South Street, Hastings, NE 68901
p: 402.463.5611
gneedham@esu9.org
Term 7.1.2020-6.30.2022
[Co-Chair, K-12 Education]
Educational Service Units
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the ESU Coordinating Council)
Mr. Scott Jones
Distance Learning Director
Southwest Nebraska Distance Education Network
1221 W. 17th St.
North Platte, NE 69101
p: 308.534.2427
scott.jones@esusixteen.org

Non-Voting Liaisons

Liaisons Representing Alternates
Dr. Mike Baumgartner
Executive Director
CCPE
140 N. 8th St., Suite 300, P.O. Box 95005, Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
p: 402.471.0029
mike.baumgartner@nebraska.gov
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education Dr. Kathleen Fimple
Academic Programs Officer
CCPE
140 N. 8th St., Suite 300, P.O. Box 95005, Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
p: 402.471.0030
kathleen.fimple@nebraska.gov
To be announced
Department of Education To be announced
Mr. Ed Toner
Chief Information Officer
State Office of the CIO
501 S. 14th, 4th Floor, Lincoln, NE 68509-5045
p: 402.471.3717
ed.toner@nebraska.gov
Department of Administrative Services To Be Named
Budget Analyst
DAS Budget Division
Capitol 1320, P.O. Box 94664, Lincoln, NE 68509-4664
p: 402.471.6500
Ms. Ling Ling Sun
Asst General Manager for Technology/CTO
NET
1800 N. 33rd, P.O. Box 83111, Lincoln, NE 68501-3111
p: 402.472.9333
lsun@netnebraska.org
Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Commission Mr. Chad Davis
Asst General Manager for Digital and Multimedia
NET
1800 N. 33rd, P.O. Box 83111, Lincoln, NE 68501-3111
p: 402.472.9333
cdavis42@unl.edu