### STATE GOVERNMENT COUNCIL

Executive Building - Lower Level Conference Room 521 S 14th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska Thursday, August 16, 2018, 1:30 p.m. **MINUTES** 

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Ed Toner. Chief Information Officer Aaron Anderson, Workers' Compensation Court Chris Ayotte, Department of Revenue Angie Hansen-Kruse. Department of Labor Dean Folkers, Department of Education Steve Rathie, Department of Natural Resources Jim Ohmberger, OCIO-Enterprise Computing Services Mike Fabry, Department of Banking and Finance Mike Fargen, Crime Commission Javne Scofield, OCIO-Network Services Steve Ingracia, Department of Transportation Rick Fisher, Administrative Services Dorest Harvey, Private Sector Colleen Byelick, Secretary of State Keith Dev. Department of Motor Vehicles Ron TeBrink, Department of Correctional Services Pam Kunzman, Nebraska State Patrol Trinity Chappelear, Governor's Policy Research Office Rod Wagner, Library Commission Neil Sullivan, Budget Division

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Chris Hill, Department of Health and Human Services Dennis Burling, Department of Environmental Quality; and Corey Steel, State Court Administrator's Office

# **ROLL CALL; MEETING NOTICE; OPEN MEETINGS ACT INFORMATION**

Mr. Toner called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. There were 18 members present at the time of roll call. A quorum was present. Meeting notice was posted to the NITC website and the Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar on May 29, 2018. The agenda was posted to the NITC website on August 13, 2018.

New members were introduced and welcomed to the council.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

# **APPROVAL OF MINUTES FOR FEBRUARY 8, 2018**

Mr. Harvey moved to approve the February 8, 2018 minutes as presented. Ms. Kunzman seconded. Roll call vote: Toner-Yes, Hansen-Kruse-Abstained, Fisher-Abstained, Fargen-Abstained, Byelick-Abstained, Folkers-Yes, Rathje-Yes, Harvey-Yes, Dey-Abstained, Anderson-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Yes, Kunzman-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, Wagner-Abstained, and Ingracia-Yes. Results: Yes-12, No-0, Abstained-6. Motion carried

# **TECHNICAL STANDARDS AND GUIDELINES**

Section 1-201. Agency information technology plans.

The form has been updated with no major changes. The Office of the CIO plans to use this information for applications portfolio management. Mr. Ohmberger's team is heading up this initiative. He and his team will be available to assist agencies. Members indicated it would be helpful to be able to view other agency plans.

Section 1-202. Project reviews; information technology projects submitted as part of the state biennial budget process.

The timeline for the 2019-2021 biennial budget reviews was shared with members.

Proposal 18-04, GIS standard for state agencies. Recommendation to the commission.

John Watermolen, State GIS Coordinator, introduced the proposal. There were no questions.

Mr. Harvey moved to recommend approval of Proposal 18-04. Mr. Dey seconded. Roll call vote: Toner-Yes, Hansen-Kruse-Yes, Fisher-Yes, Fargen-Yes, Byelick-Yes, Folkers-Yes, Rathje-Yes, Harvey-Yes, Dey-Yes, Anderson-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Yes, Kunzman-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, Wagner-Yes, and Ingracia-Yes. Results: Yes-18, No-0, Abstained-0. Motion carried.

Mr. Sullivan arrived at the meeting.

Ms. Chappelear arrived at the meeting.

#### PRESENTATION ON CHANGE MANAGEMENT

Tim Arroyo, Office of the CIO

Mr. Arroyo provided information about the Office of the CIO's change management process and how agencies may participate in that process. Members were invited to contact Mr. Arroyo for more information.

# **CIO UPDATE; ROADMAP UPDATE**

In September, the Office of the CIO will be holding multiple information sessions regarding the Office of the CIO's rates.

#### **AGENCY REPORTS; OTHER BUSINESS**

There were no agency reports.

Mr. Toner suggested that future meetings feature presentations on agency projects and initiatives.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Ms. Byelick moved to adjourn. Mr. TeBrink seconded. All were in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:37 p.m.

Meeting minutes were taken by Lori Lopez Urdiales and reviewed by Rick Becker, Office of the CIO/NITC.