# STATE GOVERNMENT COUNCIL

Nebraska State Office Building – Lower Level B 301 Centennial Mall S Lincoln, Nebraska Thursday, February 8, 2018, 2:00 p.m. **MINUTES** 

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Ed Toner, Chief Information Officer Aaron Anderson, Workers' Compensation Court Chris Ayotte, Department of Revenue Lori Henkenius, Department of Education Steve Rathje, Department of Natural Resources Chris Hill, Department of Health and Human Services Jim Ohmberger, OCIO-Enterprise Computing Services Mike Fabry, Department of Banking Jennifer Rasmussen, State Court Administrator's Office Jayne Scofield, OCIO-Network Services Terri Slone, Department of Labor Steve Ingracia, Department of Transportation

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Dennis Burling, Department of Environmental Quality; Karen Hall, Administrative Services; Dorest Harvey, Private Sector; Colleen Byelick, Secretary of State; Keith Dey, Department of Motor Vehicles; Darrell Fischer, Crime Commission; Gerry Oligmueller, Budget; Robin Spindler, Department of Correctional Services; Pam Kunzman, Nebraska State Patrol; Erin Bottger, Governor's Policy Research Office; and Rod Wagner, Library Commission

## **ROLL CALL; MEETING NOTICE; OPEN MEETINGS ACT INFORMATION**

Mr. Toner called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m. There were 12 members present at the time of roll call. A quorum was present. The meeting notice was posted to the NITC website and the Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar on December 15, 2017. The agenda was posted to the NITC website on February 5, 2018. A copy on the Nebraska Open Meetings Act was available in the meeting room.

## **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES FOR OCTOBER 12, 2017**

Mr. Fabry moved to approve the October 12, 2017 minutes as presented. Mr. Rathje seconded. Roll call vote: Slone-Abstained, Henkenius-Yes, Rathje-Abstained, Hill-Yes, Anderson-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, Rasmussen-Abstained, Toner-Yes, and Ingracis-Yes. Results: Yes-9, No-0, Abstained-3. Motion carried.

## SITE SUPPORT UPDATE, JOE HOMAN

Joe Homan was introduced as the IT Manager for OCIO Site Support. Mr. Homan has 20 years of desktop support experience. Site support was phase 3 of the OCIO consolidation initiative. Site support currently has a team of 80 experienced staff -- primarily from the OCIO, DOT, and DHHS -- located in 8 service centers across the state. The service supports all cabinet agencies, lease customers and county automation by providing hardware support, staff availability and PC/laptop refresh. The state is already seeing efficiencies in travel costs and time needed to fix issues.

Site support goals include:

• Cross training of staff to provide layers of support;

- Implement an enterprise asset management system;
- All agency desktop support request will be routed through site support; and
- Move agencies to a managed desktop environment.

Accomplishments thus far:

- Ninety percent of the staff have CJIS background checks;
- All staff have OCIO ID badges;
- Tracking time in Clarity;
- SharePoint site collection for supporting agencies; and
- Field staff are supporting Labor, Patrol, Arts Council, Brand Committee and more agencies are using our services.

Mr. Homan distributed the OCIO Site Support organizational chart and a map showing support locations.

# CIO UPDATE; ROADMAP UPDATE

Mr. Toner provided updates on the following: CIO meetings with agency directors to share information and to discuss any agency IT needs or issues; Centrex phone system replacement and related RFP; OCIO informational sessions on cloud computing and other topics; and, initial phase 4 plans.

# AGENCY REPORTS; OTHER BUSINESS

The following agencies provided updates to the council:

- DHHS, Chris Hill;
- Department of Banking, Aaron Anderson;
- Nebraska Interactive, Brent Hoffman; and
- Department of Labor, Terri Slone

Terri Slone will be retiring on March 2. Mr. Toner thanked Ms. Slone for her work.

## ADJOURNMENT

## Ms. Slone moved to adjourn. Mr. Hill seconded. All were in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:02 p.m.

Meeting minutes were taken by Lori Lopez Urdiales and reviewed by Rick Becker of the Office of the CIO.