## STATE GOVERNMENT COUNCIL

Executive Building - Lower Level Conference Room 521 S 14th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska Thursday, June 8, 2017, 1:30 p.m. MEETING MINUTES

#### MEMBERS PRESENT:

Terri Slone, Department of Labor Karen Hall, Administrative Services Colleen Byelick, Secretary of State Kim Menke, Department of Natural Resources Keith Dey, Department of Motor Vehicles Aaron Anderson, Workers' Compensation Court Jim Ohmberger, OCIO-Enterprise Computing Services Mike Fabry, Department of Banking Pam Kunzman, Nebraska State Patrol Jayne Scofield, OCIO-Network Services Chris Ayotte, Department of Revenue Ron TeBrink, Department of Correctional Services Jennifer Rasmussen, State Court Administrator's Office Rod Wagner, Library Commission Bill Wehling, Department of Roads

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Ed Toner, Chief Information Officer; Chris Hill, Department of Health and Human Services; Dorest Harvey, Private Sector; Dennis Burling, Department of Environmental Quality; Mike Calvert, Legislative Fiscal Office; Brent Gaswick, Department of Education; Gerry Oligmueller, Budget.

### **ROLL CALL, MEETING NOTICE & OPEN MEETINGS ACT INFORMATION**

Jim Ohmberger called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. Without objection, Mr. Omhberger served as the temporary chair for this meeting. There were 15 voting members present at the time of roll call. A quorum was present. The meeting notice was posted to the <u>NITC website</u> and the <u>Nebraska Public</u> <u>Meeting Calendar</u> on June 1, 2017. The agenda was posted to the NITC website on June 1, 2017.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There were no public comments.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES – FEBRUARY 9, 2017 AND APRIL 13, 2017

Mr. Dey moved to approve the February 9, 2017 minutes as presented. Mr. TeBrink seconded. Roll call vote: Slone-Yes, Hall-Yes, Byelick-Abstain, Menke-Yes, Dey-Yes, Anderson-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Abstain, Kunzman-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, Rasmussen-Yes, Wagner-Yes, and Wehling-Yes. Results: Yes-13, No-0, Abstained-2. Motion carried.

Mr. Dey moved to approve the April 13, 2017 minutes as presented. Ms. Kunzman seconded. Roll call vote: Wehling-Abstain, Wagner-Yes, Rasmussen-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, Scofield-Abstain, Kunzman-Yes, Fabry-Abstain, Ohmberger-Yes, Anderson-Yes, Dey-Yes, Menke-Abstain, Byelick-Abstain, Hall-Yes, and Slone-Abstain. Results: Yes-9, No-0, Abstained-6. Motion carried.

#### STANDARDS AND GUIDELINES

Proposal 17-02 Definitions

Mr. Hobbs stated that the OCIO Legal Counsel, Rick Becker, has reviewed the document as well and is now ready for the council's review.

The State Government Council recommended including definitions for the following:

- PCI (Payment Card Industry)
- FTI (Federal Tax Information)
- CJIS (Criminal Justice Information System)
- FEDRAMP (Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program)

Mr. Dey moved to recommend approval of Proposal 17-02 with the additional definitions for PCI, FTI, CJIS and FEDRAMP. Ms. Slone seconded. Roll call vote: Slone-Yes, Hall-Yes, Byelick-Yes, Menke-Yes, Dey-Yes, Anderson-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Yes, Kunzman-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, Rasmussen-Yes, Wagner-Yes, and Wehling-Yes. Results: Yes-15, No-0, Abstained-0. Motion carried.

### **Proposal 17-01 Information Security Policy**

Members discussed Amendment 1 to Proposal 17-01. Members recommended the following additional changes to Amendment 1:

- 8-202 #2: Change rational to rationale
- 8-204: Second paragraph, change should to must
- 8-205: Change heading to "Portable IT Devices"

Change sentence to read: "CONFIDENTIAL or RESTRICTED data must not be stored on portable IT devices unless it has been encrypted using technology approved by the state information security office or the agency information security officer.

8-303, Section A: Change to read:

All employees and other persons performing work on behalf of the state, authorized to access any state information or IT resources, that have the potential to process, store, or access nonpublic information, must be assigned a unique State of Nebraska user ID which resides in the State of Nebraska Active Directory domain with the minimum necessary access required to perform their duties.

- 8-506 #7: Change time from 15 minutes to 5 minutes
- 8-507 #3: Change to read:

Prior to removing any equipment from the secured environment to which it is assigned, the equipment must be approved for release.....

- 8-607: Table triangles need are not aligned properly.
- 8-705: Strike "with the state"

Mr. Dey moved to recommend approval of Proposal 17-01 as revised by Amendment 1 and with the additional changes recommended by the Council. Ms. Kunzman seconded. Roll call vote: Slone-Yes, Hall-Yes, Menke-Yes, Dey-Yes, Anderson-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Yes, Kunzman-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Ayotte-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, and Wehling-Yes. Results: Yes-12, No-0, Abstained-0. Motion carried.

### AGENCY REPORTS AND OTHER BUSINESS

Department of Labor. Ms. Slone reported that the agency had an IRS visit. The agency was assigned follow-up tasks and field visits will be planned. Mr. Hobbs will be working with Labor.

Department of Roads. Mr. Wehling thanked Ms. Slone and Kevin Waechter for the work with Vericode. The agency is waiting for a quote from Microfocus to look at mainframe applications. Other members were interested in this information as well.

### ADJOURN

# Mr. Dey moved to adjourn. Ms. Slone seconded. All were in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 2:58 p.m.

Meeting minutes were taken by Lori Lopez Urdiales and reviewed by Jim Ohmberger of the Office of the CIO.