STATE GOVERNMENT COUNCIL

Executive Building - Lower Level Conference Room 521 S 14th Street Lincoln, Nebraska Thursday, April 13, 2017, 1:30 p.m.

WORKING SESSION

MEETING MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chris Hill, Department of Health and Human Services
Colleen Byelick, Secretary of State
Keith Dey, Department of Motor Vehicles
Aaron Anderson, Workers' Compensation Court
Jim Ohmberger, OCIO-Enterprise Computing Services
Mike Fargen, Crime Commission
Pam Kunzman, Nebraska State Patrol
Chris Ayotte, Department of Revenue
Ron TeBrink, Department of Correctional Services
Jennifer Rasmussen, State Court Administrator's Office
Rod Wagner, Library Commission

MEMBERS ABSENT: Ed Toner, Chief Information Officer; John Albin, Department of Labor; Byron Diamond, Administrative Services; Rex Gittins, Department of Natural Resources; Dorest Harvey, Private Sector; Kelly Lammers, Department of Banking; Jayne Scofield, OCIO-Network Services; Bill Wehling, Department of Roads; Dennis Burling, Department of Environmental Quality; Mike Calvert, Legislative Fiscal Office; Brent Gaswick, Department of Education; Gerry Oligmueller, Budget

ROLL CALL, MEETING NOTICE & OPEN MEETINGS ACT INFORMATION

Mr. Ohmberger called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. Without objection, Mr. Ohmberger served as the temporary chair for this meeting. There were 11 voting members present at the time of roll call. A quorum was not present. The meeting notice was posted to the <u>NITC website</u> and the <u>Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar</u> on March 27, 2017. The agenda was posted to the NITC website on April 10, 2017. A copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act was available at the front of the meeting room.

DISCUSSION OF PROPOSAL 17-01 INFORMATION SECURITY POLICY

Chris Hobbs, State Information Security Officer

Mr. Hobbs led a discussion of the draft Information Security Policy. This new policy was drafted by the Security Architecture Workgroup and replaces the existing security related standards and guidelines. The Technical Panel has posted this proposal for the 30-day comment period, which ends on May 12. Suggested changes received during the comment period and from the State Government Council will be addressed at the June meetings of the State Government Council and Technical Panel.

Members discussed the following issues: defined terms; consistent use of terms; training requirements; length of time for training of new hires; process for terminating accounts; segregation of duties; baseline configuration documentation for change management; identification badges; monitoring system access; non-state issued email accounts; remote access requirements; and password requirements.

At the end of the time allotted for this working session, members had discussed articles 1 through 3. Members were ask to send Mr. Hobbs any additional comments on the draft policy by the end of the

month. Mr. Ohmberger indicated an additional meeting may be necessary to review the remaining articles.

ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Dey moved to adjourn the meeting. All were in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Meeting minutes were taken by Rick Becker, Office of the CIO/NITC.