STATE GOVERNMENT COUNCIL

Executive Building - Lower Level Conference Room 521 S 14th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska Thursday, February 11, 2016, 1:30 p.m. **MINUTES**

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ed Toner, Chief Information Officer, Chair Dennis Burling, Department of Environmental Quality Keith Dey, Department of Motor Vehicles Bill Wehling, Department of Roads Brent Gaswick, Department of Education Kim Menke, Department of Natural Resources Chris Hill, Department of Health and Human Services Mike Fabry, Department of Banking Glenn Morton, Workers' Compensation Court Jim Ohmberger, OCIO-Enterprise Computing Services Mike Overton, Crime Commission Jennifer Rasmussen, State Court Administrator's Office Jayne Scofield, OCIO-Network Services Terri Slone, Department of Labor Ron TeBrink, Department of Correctional Services Rod Wagner, Library Commission

MEMBERS ABSENT: Colleen Byelick, Secretary of State; Mike Calvert, Legislative Fiscal Office; Byron Diamond, Administrative Services; Dorest Harvey, Private Sector; Pam Kunzman, Nebraska State Patrol; Gerry Oligmueller, Budget; and Len Sloup, Department of Revenue

ROLL CALL, MEETING NOTICE & OPEN MEETINGS ACT INFORMATION

The Chair, Ed Toner, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. There were 16 voting members present at the time of roll call. A quorum existed to conduct official business. The meeting notice was posted to the <u>NITC website</u> and the <u>Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar</u> on December 4, 2015. The agenda was posted to the NITC website on February 8, 2016. A copy of the <u>Nebraska Open Meetings Act</u> was located at the front of the room.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

APPROVAL OF OCTOBER 21, 2015 MINUTES*

Mr. TeBrink moved to approve the October 21, 2015 as presented. Mr. Dey seconded. Roll call vote: Slone-Abstained, Burling-Yes, Overton-Abstained, Gaswick-Yes, Menke-Abstained, Hill-Yes, Dey- Yes, Morton-Yes, Ohmberger-Yes, Fabry-Abstained, Scofield-Yes, TeBrink-Yes, Rasmussen-Abstained, Toner-Yes, Wagner-Abstained, and Wehling-Yes. Results: Yes-10, No-0, Abstained-6. Motion carried.

OCIO ROADMAP UPDATE

Mr. Toner provided a 6-month update on the OCIO roadmap. Phase 1, Immediate Needs, included starting work on several initiatives in 2015. Items discussed included:

- 1. Single Help Desk Solution Incident Management.
- 2. Service Catalog.
- 3. Change Management Solution.
- 4. Enhance Information Security.
- 5. Enhanced Operations Center.

- 6. IT Cost Efficiencies.
- 7. Operationalize IT and Project Governance.
- 8. Consolidate on STN Domain.
- 9. Initiate Data Center Consolidation.
- 10. Initiate Active/Hot Standby Solution.

Phase 2, Mid-Term Implementation, has begun and will focus on the completion of Phase 1 initiatives. An update will be provided every 6 months.

Personal Workstation Standard Configuration, Tim Cao. The OCIO has developed a streamlined process in which agencies would be able to purchase workstations based on standard configurations. An alternate process is available if none of the standard configurations meet an agency's needs.

Cloud computing guidelines are in development and will be on a future agenda.

AGENCY REPORTS AND OTHER BUSINESS

The Governor has appointed Mr. Toner as the new Chair of the Nebraska Information Technology Commission.

There were no agency reports.

ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Dey moved to adjourn. Mr. Hill seconded. All were in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:16 p.m.

The meeting minutes were taken by Lori Lopez Urdiales and reviewed by Rick Becker, Office of the CIO/NITC.