STATE GOVERNMENT COUNCIL of the

Nebraska Information Technology Commission Thursday, February 14, 2013, 1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Executive Building - Lower Level Conference Room 521 S 14th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Brenda Decker, Chief Information Officer, Chair Beverlee Bornemeier, OCIO-Enterprise Computing Services Keith Dey, Department of Motor Vehicles Pat Flanagan, Private Sector Suzi Fredrickson, Nebraska State Patrol; Lori Henkenius. Department of Education Eric Henrichsen, Department of Health and Human Services Joe Kellner, Department of Roads Kelly Lammers, Department of Banking Bill Miller, State Court Administrator's Office Glenn Morton, Workers' Compensation Court Mike Overton, Crime Commission Steve Rathie, Department of Natural Resources Jayne Scofield, OCIO-Network Services Bob Shanahan, Department of Correctional Services Len Sloup, Department of Revenue

MEMBERS ABSENT: Dennis Burling, Department of Environmental Quality; Mike Calvert, Legislative Fiscal Office; Carlos Castillo, Administrative Services; John Gale, Secretary of State's Office; Dorest Harvey, Private Sector; Lauren Kitner, Policy Research Office; Gerry Oligmueller, Budget Office; Terri Slone, Department of Labor; and Rod Wagner, Library Commission.

ROLL CALL, MEETING NOTICE & OPEN MEETINGS ACT INFORMATION

The Chair, Brenda Decker, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. There were 15 voting members present at the time of roll call. A quorum existed to conduct official business. The meeting notice was posted to the <u>NITC website</u> and the <u>Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar</u> on December 17, 2012. The agenda was posted to the NITC website on February 8, 2013. A copy of the <u>Nebraska Open Meetings</u> <u>Act</u> was located on the podium at the front of the room.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

Mr. Flanagan arrived at the meeting.

APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 13, 2012 MINUTES*

Mr. Henrichsen moved to approve the <u>December 13, 2012</u> minutes as presented. Mr. Sloup seconded. Roll call vote: Overton-Abstained, Bornemeier-Yes, Decker-Yes, Sloup-Yes, Flanagan-Yes, Rathje-Yes, Lammers-Yes, Morton-Yes, Dey- Abstained, Henrichsen-Yes, Henkenius-Yes, Fredrickson-Abstained, Scofield-Yes, Shanahan-Yes, Miller-Abstained, and Kellner-Yes. Results: Yes-12, No-0, Abstained-4. Motion carried.

STANDARDS AND GUIDELINES - RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE NITC*

NITC 7-104: Web Domain Name Standard (New)

Purpose: The purpose of this standard is to provide for consistent domain names for state government websites.

The Council tabled at the last meeting. Since then, the OCIO has met with the Webmasters Group. Staff recommended changes based on comments received. The Technical Panel recommended approval of the standard with the recommended changes.

Mr. Shanahan moved to recommend approval of <u>NITC 7-104</u>: Web Domain Name Standard with the recommended changes. Mr. Dey seconded. Roll call vote: Kellner-Yes, Miller- Yes, Shanahan-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Fredrickson- Yes, Henkenius-Yes, Henrichsen-Yes, Dey- Yes, Morton-Yes, Lammers-Yes, Rathje-Yes, Flanagan-Yes, Sloup-Yes, Decker-Yes, Bornemeier-Yes, and Overton-Yes. Results: Yes-16, No-0, Abstained-0. Motion carried.

<u>NITC 5-202</u>: Blocking Email Attachments (Repeal) and <u>NITC 5-203</u>: Blocking Unsolicited Bulk Email / "Spam" (Repeal)

Both of these standards were adopted when several agencies were running their own email servers. Now that the State has a single system, these standards are no longer needed.

Mr. Dey moved to recommend repeal of <u>NITC 5-202</u>: Blocking Email Attachments and <u>NITC 5-203</u>: Blocking Unsolicited Bulk Email/"Spam". Mr. Overton seconded. Roll call vote: Rathje-Yes, Lammers-Yes, Morton-Yes, Dey- Yes, Henrichsen-Yes, Henkenius-Yes, Fredrickson- Yes, Scofield-Yes, Shanahan-Yes, Miller- Yes, and Kellner-Yes, Overton- Yes, Bornemeier-Yes, Decker-Yes, Sloup-Yes, Flanagan-Yes. Results: Yes-16, No-0, Abstained-0. Motion carried.

ESTABLISH A SECURITY ARCHITECTURE WORK GROUP*

The Security Architecture Work Group was previously chartered under the Technical Panel. Staff recommended that the work group be re-chartered under the State Government Council.

Mr. Rathje moved to approve the <u>Security Architecture Work Group</u> charter. Mr. Dey seconded. Roll call vote: Morton-Yes, Lammers-Yes, Rathje-Yes, Flanagan-Yes, Sloup-Yes, Decker-Yes, Bornemeier-Yes, Overton-Yes, Kellner-Yes, Miller- Yes, Shanahan-Yes, Scofield-Yes, Fredrickson-Yes, Henkenius-Yes, Henrichsen-Yes, and Dey- Yes. Results: Yes-16, No-0, Abstained-0. Motion carried.

SECURITY - MOBILE DEVICE MANAGEMENT

Chris Hobbs, State Information Security Officer, reported that the Security Architecture Work Group will be gathering information from agencies regarding mobile device management to get agency's feedback and input and evaluate agency needs. Members were asked to contact Mr. Hobbs if they had other IT staff who they feel would provide valuable information. This is not a decision making group at this point and it will not affect the current mobile device standards. Mr. Hobbs requested the information as soon as possible due to current implementation of mobile devices.

SPAM/MARKETING QUARANTINE FUNCTIONALITY OF THE IRONPORT APPLIANCE - Jason Meyer

Mr. Meyer provided information on and a demonstration of the spam/marketing quarantine functionality of the IronPort appliance. Council members were asked to contact the OCIO if they were interested in implementing the quarantine functionality within their agency. Mr. Meyers entertained questions.

AGENCY REPORTS AND OTHER BUSINESS

Department of Revenue. Darrin Olson was introduced as the Department's new Security Officer.

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Keith Dey. Mr. Dey asked if other agencies were experiencing an increase in viruses and other malware in their computing environments. Annie King indicated that other agencies have reported similar issues. This topic will be an item for a future Council agenda.

Supreme Court, Bill Miller. Mr. Miller raised the issue of what was promised with Office 365 and what is currently being provided.

ADJOURN

Mr. Miller moved to adjourn. Mr. Dey seconded. All were in favor. Motion carried.

The next meeting of the State Government Council will be at 1:30 p.m. on April 11, 2013 in the Lower Level Conference Room, Executive Building, 521 South 14th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska.

Meeting minutes were taken by Lori Lopez Urdiales and reviewed by Rick Becker of the Office of the CIO/NITC.