Network Nebraska Meeting Notes

http://nitc.nebraska.gov/NNAG

June 20, 2012 - 1-2:30PM CT

2012 Budget Review Meeting

(Video Conference Dial-in IP Address - 164.119.46.1##5000)

Agenda Items:

- 1. Welcome Roll Call and Introductions and Agenda Additions (visitors)
 - a.John Stritt, Debbie Schroeder, Ron Cone; ESU 10-Kearney
 - b.Ken Clipperton; Midland University-Fremont
 - c.Rick Golden, Tom Rolfes; Varner Hall-Lincoln
 - d.Dan Hoesing; Alliance Public Schools
 - e.John Dunning; Wayne State College
 - f. Scott Jones; ESU 16-North Platte
 - g.Tom Peters, Jason Degn; Streaming Live
 - h.Leona Roach, Nebraska Hall-Lincoln
 - i. Kirk Langer, ESU 18-Lincoln
- 2. May 9 Meeting Notes (http://nitc.nebraska.gov/NNAG/meetings/index.html)
 - a. John Stritt gave a brief overview of the May 9 meeting notes.
 - b.He reiterated that the membership terms start on July 1. John accepted any self-nominations for co-chair. There were none.
 - c.Jason Degn assumed the role vacated by Tip O'Neill, on behalf of the independent colleges.
- 3. Reports (Get reports from different groups that impact our recommendations)
 - CAP
 - Network Nebraska Upgrade Report
 - Updated Statewide Backbone Diagram

Tom Rolfes provided an update on the new backbone diagram.

- NEW Membership Update
 - •Springfield Platteview Community Schools, ESU 3
 - District OR 1-Palmyra/Bennet, ESU 4
 - •Nebraska City Public Schools, ESU 4
 - Pawnee City Public Schools, ESU 4
 - Sterling Public Schools, ESU 4
 - •Freeman Public Schools, ESU 5
 - •Holy Family School-Lindsay, ESU 7
 - Nebraska Indian Community College-Macy
 - •Little Priest Tribal College-Winnebago

Tom Rolfes provided an update on the new membership.

- Other CAP Info
 - •iSupport Trouble Ticket System
- •Leona Roach updated the group on where UNCSN is at with the iSupport system. Network Nebraska will be provided and be billed for 10 simultaneous technician logins. Leona will be distributing the log-in I.D.s and the categories for support will be finished, soon. Whenever any progress occurs on a ticket, an automatic e-mail will be

generated which will add to the originator's e-mail load. Line 48 of the Participation Fee currently has a charge of 25% or \$825/year. This number may need to be increased. Leona will get the budget update to Tom.

- 4. Budget Review:
 - 2012-13 Budget *Schroeder, Golden, Cone, Dunning, Peters, Rolfes
 - Transport Budget
 - Statewide Internet Budget
 - Participation Budget
 - Tom Rolfes used the three budget documents to review projected costs and fees for 2012-13:
 - Statewide Internet--\$2.55/Mbps/month for higher education;
 \$.7905/Mbps/month for K-12 (E-rate eligible entities)
 - Interregional Transport Fee--\$61.28/month for higher education; \$18.67/month for K-12 (E-rate eligible entities)
 - Participation Fee--\$203.48/month for higher education and K-12 entities
 - Tom explained that the major purchases of the six new core routers, traffic shaper, and Ciena 10Gbps gear in Omaha accounted for the increase in the monthly Participation Fee. However, with the increase in membership and slight increase in the Participation Fee, it is possible that the outstanding balance on all of the new equipment (\$173,648) will be paid off by June 30, 2013. Other new items in the Participation Fee budget included iPerf Traffic Testing appliances (5 x \$1,700 = \$8,500), two additional ports on the OCIO Bridge (\$644), VM Servers to pilot DNS and LDAP Directory Services (\$500).
 - John Dunning moved, and Scott Jones seconded, to recommend implementation of the three budgets and fees as discussed. All were in favor. Motion passed unanimously.
 - Tom Rolfes reported that the staff of the OCIO will take care of the invoice changes, with first invoice to arrive the first week in August. Brenda Decker will draft and staff will send out the annual Fee Memo to all participants.
- 5. Next Meeting Date Wednesday, September 12. 1-3 PM
 - John Stritt reminded the group that the next regularly scheduled NNAG meeting will be Wednesday, September 12, from 1-3pm CT.
 - The meeting adjourned at 2:20pm.

Meeting notes were recorded by Tom Rolfes and reviewed by John Stritt and Debbie Schroeder.