Nebraska Information Technology Commission EDUCATION COUNCIL

2012-2014 Membership Renewals/Replacements EXPIRING June 30, 2012

Name	Representing	Status
	HIGHER EDUCATION (2011-13 term)	
Mary Niemiec	UN System	President Milliken confirmed (7/11/12)
Clark Chandler	Independent Colleges & Universitie	es Tip O'Neill confirmed (6/15/12)
Randy Schmailzl	Community College System	Dennis Baack confirmed (6/7/12)
John Dunning	State College System	Stan Carpenter confirmed (7/27/12)
	<u>K-12 EDUCATION (2011-13 term)</u>	
Gary Needham	Educational Service Units	Matt Blomstedt confirmed (7/14/12)
Terry Haack	Administrators	Mike Dulaney confirmed (7/26/12)

Awaiting confirmation (X/X/12)

Nancy Fulton confirmed (5/30/12)

Note

Jeff Stanley

Jeff Johnson

Underlined Candidates are new voting members to the NITC Education Council and have a brief biographical statement attached to this document

Boards of Education

Public Teachers

RECOGNITION

The Nebraska Information Technology Commission wishes to recognize and thank Mr. Ron Cone for his many years of distinguished service on the Education Council, in the role of advising the Commission on matters of education technology initiatives, funding, and policy.

Biographical Sketches

Gary Needham

Gary Needham was just hired as the Director of Technology at ESU 9 in Hastings in July 2012. He succeeds Ron Cone on the Education Council as a representative of the Educational Service Units of Nebraska. Mr. Needham previously worked for Kearney Public Schools since 2004 as the Director of Technology and as an Apple Systems Analyst. He also previously owned his own technology business. Gary earned a Bachelors Degree in Education from the University of Nebraska-Kearney, majoring in computer science and business, graduating Magna Cum Laude. He is proficient in numerous technical areas such as local area networks, wide area networks, and server systems. Gary recently helped plan and present at the NETA Disaster Recovery Planning Workshop in February and is a frequent presenter at the NETA conference and area technical conferences.